Dynamics-aerosol-chemistry-cloud interactions in West Africa
E-newsletter Sign Up

To subscribe to our E-newsletter please enter your details below and click 'Subscribe'

Full Name: *
Affiliation: *
Email Address: *
Showing page 1 of 2 pages
    [ 12 ]
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France
CNRS participates in DACCIWA through two Joint Research Units (JRU), that are: 1. The "Service des Avions Français Instrumentés pour la Recherche en Environnement" (SAFIRE - UMS 2859) Toulouse, France, is, jointly controlled by CNRS, Météo-France and CNES for the operation of aircraft performing research in the fields of Environment and Geo-Sciences. 2. The "Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées" (OMP - UMS 831) Toulouse, France, especially SEDOO ("Service de Données de l'OMP"), a data service which collects and guarantees access to earth science, oceanographic and continental interface data recorded by different laboratories all around the world.
The Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) is the German national research establishment for aeronautics, space research and energy technology. The DLR Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (DLR-IPA) performs research in the areas of large-scale, meso-scale, and micro-scale atmospheric modelling, air-borne measurements of chemical species, aerosols and meteorological quantities, development and application of remote-sensing techniques, and processing of satellite data. DLR-IPA has many years of experience in conducting and co-ordinating aircraft campaigns supported by the DLR flight operations department with technical and logistical services.
The Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science (IAC) within the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ) is part of the Department of Environmental Sciences (D-UWIS). IAC is recognised as a world leading institute in the area of atmospheric and climate science. It pursues leading-edge research on atmospheric physics, chemistry and dynamics, and on global and regional past, present and future climate. The Center for Climate Systems Modeling (C2SM) is embedded into the IAC and is a joint venture initiated by the ETHZ, MeteoSwiss and the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (EMPA) in 2008. The overarching goal of C2SM is to improve our capability to understand and predict Earth’s climate and weather by focusing on the multi-scale interactions within the climate system.
The European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) is an international organisation supported by 32 European and Mediterranean States. ECMWF's longstanding principal objectives are the development of numerical methods for medium-range weather forecasting; the preparation, on a regular basis of medium-range and long-range weather forecasts for distribution to the meteorological services of the Member States; scientific and technical research directed to the improvement of these forecasts; collection and storage of appropriate meteorological data. ECMWF's computer facility includes supercomputers, archiving systems and networks. In 2010, an amendment to the Convention establishing ECMWF added the objective of contributing to the monitoring of relevant parts of the Earth-system.
The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a higher education and research organisation with about 8000 employees, 18,500 students, and a total annual budget of about €700M. KIT was established in 2009 as a merger of Universität Karlsruhe (founded in 1825), one of Germany’s leading research universities, and Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (founded in 1956), one of the largest national research centres in the Helmholtz Association. KIT’s Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) has four departments, which have each significantly contributed to atmospheric and climate research on the national and European level.
The establishment of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Kumasi, Ghana dates back to 1961. KNUST is the second largest University in Ghana and is located in the second biggest city of the country. The Vision of KNUST: Advancing knowledge in science and technology for sustainable development in Africa. Mission Statement: KNUST provides an environment for teaching, research and entrepreneurship training in science and technology for the industrial and socio-economic development of Ghana, Africa and other nations. KNUST also offers services to the community, is open to all and positioned to attract scholars, industrialists and entrepreneurs from Africa and the international community. Core Values of KNUST: Leadership in Innovation and Technology, Culture of Excellence, Diversity and Equal Opportunity for All, and Integrity and Stewardship of Resources.
The Met Office is the national meteorological service for the United Kingdom. The Met Office has developed a single 'Unified Model' for delivering operational weather forecasting products both nationally and internationally for a wide range of customers. The same model is used for climate science and decadal predictions.
The Obafemi Awolowo University is a comprehensive public institution that was established in 1962 as the University of Ife. The University is situated on a vast expanse of land totalling 11,861 hectares in Ile-Ife, Osun State, southwest of Nigeria. In the 1970s and the early 1980s, the University attained a foremost position among universities in Africa, with a vibrant academic and social atmosphere and a high international reputation. The University offers undergraduate degree and postgraduate degree programmes in all major disciplines. The student population is 29,256 (38% females), and 1,253 academic staff (all cadres) as at December 2012. Today, the University celebrates a rich tradition of excellence having produced, from among its staff, a Nobel Laureate and four National Merit Award winners. Atmospheric research at OAU is integrated into the Department of Physics.
The University of Manchester is the largest research university in the UK and is acclaimed worldwide for the quality of its teaching and research. Its annual research income in 2010/11 exceeded €225 million. The University is undertaking the largest ever capital investment programme in UK higher education, with more than £465 million invested so far in state-of-the-art buildings. The Centre for Atmospheric Sciences (CAS) is in the School of Earth, Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences (SEAES) and is globally recognised as a major centre for aerosol and cloud physics research based on world leading capability for field measurement, laboratory characterisation and process modelling studies. CAS hosts the Directorate of Observations for the NERC National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS), which will be underpinning the field studies.
The University of Reading Department of Meteorology is the largest of its kind in Europe with 40 academics, 110 research staff and around 70 PhD students. In the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise, 75% of research was graded as world leading or internationally excellent. The weighted score places Reading third in the country in the "Earth Systems and Environmental Science" category, with the highest-graded department focusing on the fundamental science of weather and climate. Reading received the highest rating of 5* in all previous Research Assessment Exercises. The Department hosts around 25 Met Office scientists, the Climate Division of the National Centre for Atmospheric Science, as well as the National Centre for Earth Observation.